Uncategorized

Crayon Soup? Eh?

2-crayon-soup-diana-angstadt
Crayon Soup by Diana Angstadt

You may be wondering why I call myself Crayon Soup. Well it all started a long time ago on a parenting forum (now sadly defunct) called The Bad Mothers Club. I had 2 young children and felt as though I really was not coping with the whole parenting shebang. One evening as I was pootling about on the internet I searched “Am I a bad mother” and one of the links was The Bad Mothers Club parenting forum. I read it for a while, and realised that actually I was doing ok. Everyone there had their own struggles and none of us knew what on earth we were doing. We all had usernames, and for a while I was pandagirl (I have always loved pandas) which suited me for a bit. After a while though I wanted something a bit more fun and interesting I was still overwhelmed with everything and felt as though it was only a matter of time before I got totally mixed up and ended up giving the kids leek and potato to draw with and put crayons in the soup, and so Crayon Soup was born. It’s a slightly perculiar, mixed up sort of a name, for a slightly mixed up perculiar sort of person. (I’ve looked at the word perculiar too much and now it looks wrong). It’s kind of stuck and occasionally, on facebook or even meeting up in real life, I still get called Crayon even though the forum has long since died a death.

Leave a comment