Uncategorized

The journey to now, part 1,

or how a scarf saved my life.

So I thought I’d bring you up to date with the things I’ve made, when I made them and what they have meant to me.

Beginnings: As I have briefly mentioned elsewhere at the beginning of 2014 we were faced with a situation with my son’s school. We were thrown into a web of local and national politics and were heavily involved with trying to keep the school open. It was  a really tough time. We were in over our heads and under a huge amount of stress. My chronic pain flared up to the point that I struggled to walk more than about 100 yards most days. Through this time I was working 2 days a week and so was having to push myself to breaking point on those days. My work were very understanding, but the added pressure of the school stuff meant that I was totally wiped out on non-work days and weekends. The stress of the school meant I wasn’t sleeping and so consequently my pain was increasing, so I wasn’t sleeping, so I was in more pain, etc etc

pain-sleep

This was when I realised I needed something else to think about.  I decided I would finally try to learn to crochet, something I had tried to do several times and always failed. I had a book on crochet, and bought some cheap yarn from the pound shop. I decided to make a scarf.

This scarf was a lifesaver for me – quite literally. I was at the absolute end of my rope, i had no further to drop. But somehow, the reasurring rhythm of the stitches calmed my mind, and helped me break the cycle I had been in. I am still unsure quite how it calmed me, but it did. From then on I was hooked (pun intended – sorry) on crochet. Then my decision was what on earth to do next…

The journey to now, part 2