Uncategorized

Crafternoon for Mind

Yesterday I went to a Crafternoon in aid of Mind, it was wonderful, we sat in a yurt in my friend’s back garden, I crocheted (obviously), a couple of people were knitting, someone was spinning some fabulous floof on a portable spinning wheel – I know!! There was a hula hoop and some old fabric yarn that was being turned into a rug, and some Alpaca yarn that was also being turned into a rug, but on a peg loom. I’d never seen a peg loom before (I wish I’d taken some photos but my phone ran out of charge and I’m still getting used to this blogging lark).  Then a couple of the HABs (Husbands and Boyfriends) spent their time child wrangling.

I finished off part 1 of the Stylecraft   Sue Pinner crochet along.

Week 1, Carousel CAL made in Stylecraft Batik.
Week 1, Carousel CAL made in Stylecraft Batik.

and also some more of the cardigan I have in progress from The Art of Crochet.

Cardigan pieces from The Art of Crochet, made in Drops Cotton Merino.
Cardigan pieces from The Art of Crochet, made in Drops Cotton Merino.

It was less about what got done than raising money for Mind and chatting. Most of us, if not all, had suffered with mental health issues in one way or another and were all open and honest about it. We need to be more open as a society to help take away the stigma of mental health issues. Any one of us could suffer with a mental health issue, and we need to know that this is ok, and that we can get help, even if it takes some time to access it (but that’s a whole other post!)

 

ETA: For those who would like to donate, here is the link to the just giving page where you can do so.

 

2 thoughts on “Crafternoon for Mind

  1. It’s so good to hear (or read!) about the journey other people are living. The therapeutic power of crafting, particularly repetitive action that uses both sides of the body, has been ignored for far too long. Hurrah for hooking! And the pointy stick thing too! Looking forward to reading more!

    Like

Leave a comment